

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (SPECIAL)

MONDAY 16 MAY 2005 (AT THE RISING OF THE LICENSING **AND GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE SPECIAL MEETING)**

COMMITTEE AGENDA

COMMITTEE ROOMS 1/2 HARROW CIVIC CENTRE

MEMBERSHIP (Quorum 3) (subject to confirmation at Annual Council)

Chair:

(subject to decision at Annual Council)

Councillors:

Blann Bluston Gate Mitzi Green Mark Ingram Thammaiah

Jean Lammiman Osborn Pinkus Seymour Versallion

Reserve Members:

- 1. Mrs R Shah 2. Nana Asante
- 3. Ann Groves
- 4. Lavingia
- 5. Toms 6. Omar
- 1. Myra Michael 2. Mrs Champagnie 3. Mary John
- 4. John Nickolay
- 5. Janet Mote
- Issued by the Democratic Services Section, Legal Services Department

HARROW COUNCIL

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (SPECIAL)

MONDAY 16 MAY 2005

AGENDA - PART I

1. Appointment of Chair:

To note the appointment at the Annual Meeting of the Council on 12 May 2005 (subject to confirmation of that decision) of a Chair of this Committee for the Municipal Year 2005-06 (or now to make an appointment).

2. <u>Attendance by Reserve Members:</u>

To note the attendance at this meeting of any duly appointed Reserve Members.

Reserve Members may attend meetings:-

- (i) to take the place of an ordinary Member for whom they are a reserve;
- (ii) where the ordinary Member will be absent for the <u>whole</u> of the meeting; and
- (iii) after notifying the Chair at the start of the meeting.

(Note: The Members and Reserve Members of the Committee for 2005/06 are as appointed by the Annual Council Meeting of 12 May 2005).

3. **Declarations of Interest:**

To receive any declarations of personal or prejudicial interests arising from business to be transacted at this meeting, from all Members present .

4. Arrangement of Agenda:

To consider whether any of the items listed on the agenda should be considered with the press and public excluded on the grounds that it is thought likely, in view of the nature of the business to be transacted, that there would be disclosure of confidential information in breach of an obligation of confidence or of exempt information as defined in the Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985.

5. Appointment of Vice-Chair:

To appoint (subject to confirmation of the Committee's membership) a Vice-Chair of the Committee for the Municipal Year 2005/06.

(Note: The Labour Group has nominated Councillor Gate to this office).

6. <u>Minutes:</u>

To defer the signing of the Minutes of the Committee's meeting held on 26 April 2005, until the next ordinary meeting.

Enc. 7. Establishment of Sub Committees 2005-06: (Pages 1 - 4)

To consider the establishment of and appointment of Members to Sub Committees of this Committee for the Municipal Year 2005/06, including the appointment of Chairs under Overview and Scrutiny Committee Procedure Rule 11.2..

[Note: The proposed memberships of the Sub Committees relevant to this Committee and the nominees proposed as Chairs are set out in the appendices].

[NOTE: Members are asked to note that subsidiary body memberships must be determined in accordance with the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and regulations made thereunder.

Therefore, whilst the Committee has to confirm the membership of its Panels to comply with the Local Government Act 1972, the actual nominations of named Councillors are decided by each group, from within the membership of that group.

It is not open to the Committee to seek to change or to delay the nominations duly made by a group. It is only if there is a failure to make a nomination or to act in due time that the Committee may seek to consider the matter further].

AGENDA - PART II - NIL

This page is intentionally left blank

Agenda Item 7 Pages 1 to 4

SCRUTINY SUB COMMITTEES

(Membership in order of political group nominations)

Labour

Conservative

Liberal **Democrats**

(1) ENVIRONMENT AND THE ECONOMY SUB COMMITTEE (7)

(4)

(3)

<u>I.</u> Members

<u>Members</u>

Blann Lavingia Miles **Anne Whitehead** Arnold Knowles Seymour

II.	1. Dharmarajah	1. John Nickolay
Reserve	2. Ann Groves	2. Janet Mote
Members	Mrs R. Shah	Vina Mithani
	4. Thammaiah	

(2) HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE SUB-COMMITTEE (7)

(3)

Myra Michael

Joyce Nickolay

1. Jean Lammiman

Vina Mithani

(4)

<u>l.</u> Members Bluston Ann Groves Lavingia Mrs R. Shah П. 1. Blann 2. Mitzi Green Reserve

4. Gate

3. Toms

Adviser (Non-Voting):-

Jean Bradlow - Director of Public Health, Harrow Primary Care Trust

2. Pinkus 3. Mary John

	(3) LIFELONG LEARNING SUB-COMMITTEE (11)		
	(5)	(5)	(1)
<u>l.</u> Members	Nana Asante Gate Mitzi Green Kinsey Lent	Mary John Jean Lammiman Janet Mote John Nickolay Osborn	(Vacant)
II. <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u>	 Blann Lavingia Anne Whitehead Dharmarajah Mrs R. Shah 	 Vina Mithani Anjana Patel Mrs Bath Kara - 	-
	 Voting Co-opted Members: (1) Two representatives of Voluntary Aided Sector Mrs J Rammelt/Reverend P Reece (2) Two representatives of Parent Governors (2 year appointments 2002/03 – 2003/04:- Mr H. Epie (Primary)/Mr R. Sutcliffe (Secondary) 		
	(4) STRENGTHENING COMMUNITIES SUB-COMMITTEE (7)		
	(4)	(3)	
<u>l.</u> Members	Dharmarajah Gate Lavingia Thammaiah	Janet Cowan Vina Mithani Seymour	
II. <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u>	1. Toms 2. Lent 3. Ann Groves 4. Mrs R. Shah	1. Osborn 2. Kara 3. Anjana Patel	
	(5) CALL-IN SUB-COMMITTEE (5)		
	(3)	(2)	
<u>I.</u> Members	Gate Mitzi Green Thammaiah	Jean Lammiman Osborn	
II. <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u>	1. Blann 2. Ann Groves 3. Mrs R. Shah	 Seymour Versallion Romain 	

LONDON BOROUGH OF HARROW

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (SPECIAL)

ITEM 7

MONDAY 16 MAY 2005

The Major Minority Group has proposed the following nominations to the offices specified.

Chairs of Sub-Committees: (Rule 11.2 - Part B. Overview and Scrutiny Committee Procedure Rules)

Environment and Economy Sub-Committee Health and Social Care Sub-Committee Lifelong Learning Sub-Committee Strengthening Communities Sub-Committee - Councillor Thammaiah Call-In Sub-Committee

- Councillor Blann
- Councillor Bluston
- Councillor Mitzi Green

 - Councillor Mitzi Green

This page is intentionally left blank